Product Empties July 2017

Product Empties was not meant to be a monthly post. But since I really don’t have the habit to keep empty product packaging in my bathroom any longer than they need to, it’s hard to keep in mind to collect them for my Empties post.

I don’t use as much products as I used to years ago. Moving to Europe has changed me in so many ways and one of the most profound is the way I behave as a consumer. One of the major changes is the shift from piling on make-up to focus more on skin-care. So moving forward, it’s only make sense that you’re most likely going to see more skin-care products in my Empties posts in the future.

There is no make-up products in this Empties because I haven’t finished anything recently. I’ve been doing super minimal make-up recently.

Skin-care

1. La Roche-Posay Effaclar Purifying Foaming Gel (200ml) *Not going to repurchase anytime soon
I LOVE LRP Effaclar range, it worked really well on my skin type. But now that my skin gets to a better condition, I find it too drying. I switched to their Toleriane range for cleanser and moisturizer. This Effaclar cleanser is a little bit pricey but it’s really is a great cleanser for oily-combination and sensitive skin and you get a lot product that’ll last you a long time.

20170717_133120

2. The Ordinary Natural Moisturizing Factors + HA *Already repurchased
Other than my cleanser and sunscreen, the rest of the products in skin care regime now is from The Ordinary. This brand and its products are, to me, is heaven-sent. I love how simple and straighforward their ingredients are and how the products just worked wonder on my skin. My skin feels adequately moisturized and balanced and it works well with other products I’m currently using or under makeup. Do I have to mention that it’s 5.80 Euros for 30ml of product?

3. The Ordinary 100% Cold-Pressed Virgin Marula Oil *Definitely a repurchase once it’s available!
My skin loves this oil. I would repurchased bottles upon bottles of this stuff but it’s currently sold out everywhere! It’s one of those products that different skin types can benefit from. It’s simply a great product at unbeatable price. GO GET IT.

4. La Roche-Posay Anthelios XL Ultra-Light SPF50 Sunscreen *Already repurchased
It really makes no sense piling loads of other skin-care products on your skin if you’re not going to wear sunscreen. Just like what it says on the packaging, this liquid sunscreen feels very light on the skin. It does take some time to be absorbed into the skin but once it does, makeup goes nicely on top of it. No white cast (they do make a tinted version of this product) and doesn’t break me out (yeayyyy!!!). I’m still on my quest on finding a mineral sunscreen that doesn’t make me look like a ghost or break my skin or bank account out. In the meantime, I’m going to stick with whats working for me.

5. Alverde 2-Phase Make-Up Remover *Not going to repurchase
I love this makeup cleanser. It’s dirt cheap (less than 2 Euros!!), does the job well and doesn’t break me out. The thing is, I noticed that I ran out of this product so fast that I already used up 3 bottles of this stuff in less than 2 months. Although it’s great at removing make-up, I do need to use a lot of product. I’m currently trying out two other makeup remover products so most likely I won’t purchase this one from Alverde anytime soon. That being said, it’s a pretty decent product and I do recommend it especially for traveling because of the small size.

Hair Product

PicsArt_1500292530538

Hair Product
La Riche Directions Semi-Permanent Hair Colour (Flamingo Pink) *Definitely a repurchase
How long the colour lasts on your hair really depends on your hair type, how frequent you wash your hair and the hair care products you use. The vibrancy lasted for two weeks before I need to retouch the colour again. The dye is very pigmented and a little goes a long way. Considering that I have thick hair and had to retouch my colour every two weeks, I’m impressed that one jar of product lasted me for a month.

Leave a Reply

