My skin is acting up again!

My skin has never been perfectly flawless, as in clear from any blemishes or hyperpigmentations, but it has been relatively clear from major break-outs for the past few months. I still get one small pimple (maximum two) on my chin or along my jawline during my period but it’s nothing that won’t go away within a week.Β  So when I started having pimples about two weeks ago on my forehead and the sides of my nose, which are quite unusual for me, I knew something was off. I didn’t change anything in my skin care routine, no new products or diet and I have been getting my 7 hours sleep regularly now (I’m a nocturnal creature, I’m still working on getting it to 8 hours).

20170707_114353-1
Photo taken yesterday. I didn’t even have the guts to take a picture of how my skin was like last week.

Since my skin has been clear of acne for quite a while now so naturally, I didn’t have any acne treatment products with me. When I noticed that the breakouts were getting worse, I bought Garnier Skin Active S.O.S Anti-Blemish Spot Pen as that’s the best one I could find at the time. It works in making the acne less inflammed but not to diminish them entirely.

20170711_122944-1
The Ordinary products, especially this Niacinamide + Zinc serum is a lifesaver!

I also ordered The Ordinary Niacinamide 10% and Zinc 5% along with some other products I’ve been using from the brand and started using it since four days ago. This serum really helps to calm down the acne and succesfully prevent newer breakouts. In four days, most of the inflammed, angry-looking bumps are now almost gone. Bear in mind, this serum is not meant to be a sole treatment for acne. However, adding Niacinamide + Zinc in your acne-treatment regime will help to speed up the healing process.

I know that these skin care products I put on my face is not the long-term solution to this problem. I needed to find out why my skin suddenly break out, something that I haven’t had a year now. I knew it wasn’t my skin care and make-up products because nothing changes in my routine since January this year. Then I went to the kitchen to check for any new product that I have started consuming that I wasn’t aware of. As mentioned earlier, I didn’t start any new diet recently so everything stays exactly the same, except for this one thing.

PicsArt_1499768146653-1
Surprise, surprise, it contains Carrageen (or Carrageenan).

I’m not lactose intolerant but I have been reducing my dairy intake drastically for some years now. But about 3 weeks ago, I was craving some tea with milk (I know I’m weird) and I’ve been drinking it regularly for more than two weeks now.

If you don’t know what Carrageenan is, it’s basically an additive used to thicken and emulsify foods and drinks. It is often labeled as natural ingredients because it’s derived from plants (red seaweed) but that doesn’t mean it’s good for everyone. Some people may never have any issues consuming products containing Carrageenan but it would be wise to avoid it altogether. Carrageenan is often said to have cause or promote gastrointestinal inflammation and in my case, skin inflammation too. Read more about carrageenan and how it can cause breakouts here.

So what do we learn today? Know your body; what it likes and what it doesn’t. Don’t be lazy, always CHECK THE INGREDIENTS before buying things!

In the meantime, a good foundation helps too πŸ™‚

img1499775511427-1
Lancome Teint Idole Ultra 24H (shade 03)
Leave a Reply

