Quick Hamburg trip update & a day at the beach :)

20170702_135226

Just got back from a 6-day trip to Hamburg, a beautiful and thriving port city in nothern Germany. A quick summary of what I thought of the city; I absolutely love Hamburg! The city is often compared to the country’s capital, another nothern German city, Berlin. I’d say both are quite similar in vibes but differs when it comes to infrastructure and urban development. I feel like Hamburg is easier to navigate for a newcomer and the city folks are generally friendly compares to the seemingly sulky Berliners. But hey, that’s just my opinion. Berliners, don’t come and attack me!

20170703_165931-1

20170703_150150
Locals may roll their eyes but I don’t care. I love Schanzenviertel and I want to live here!

The picture above is from Hamburg’s dubbed alternative culture hub. That particular red building in the middle is called Rote Flora, a former theatre that has become a cultural and left-wing political meeting point since November 1989. We happened to be in Hamburg days leading up to G20 Summit and it really is an interesting experience for me. I get to see how the residents of Hamburg react to this Summit that brings together 20 world leaders. The news about riots and protesters clashing violently with police is pure exaggerations by the media. I don’t want to get all political here, I’m just saying that people have the right to march or hold peaceful demonstrations and police are there to keep things under control. I just think that hoards of armoured vehicles, police cars speeding through the streets with their sirens blaring and helicopters flying over the city every few minutes is a bit too much.

20170706_145311
A view from Landungsbrücke, a famous tourist attraction on Thursday. At least 4 armoured police vehicles were placed here along with some police vans.

After some days in the city, we took the train to what seems to be a typical German seaside retreat northwest of Lübeck, called Timmendorfer Strand.

IMG_20170705_153823_738
I had to take a picture of this can! It’s a wine-based drinks perfect for the summer.

In case you’re wondering, those white boxy thing are called ‘strandkorb’. It’s quiessentially and uniquely German. It’s basically a beach chair with shade and a few other functions built-in to make your day lounging at the beach as comfortable as it can be.

20170705_153136-1

Almost a no-makeup makeup look for a day at the beach ;p Lately, I’ve been having a hard time not to overdo the brows.

Base/Complexion:
La Roche-Posay Anthelios XL Ultra-Light Fluid SPF50. Wear sunscreen, folks!
Maybelline Fit Me Concealer (shade: 20) for undereyes, conceal imperfections and colour-correct redness on my cheeks.
Benefit Hoola bronzer to warm up my complexion and contour.
RL de Young Highlighter (01 Moon Dust)
Rimmel Stay Matte (001 Transparent) this is basically my go-to summer/warm weather setting powder, period.

Eyes:
Wet n Wild Coloricon Kohl Eyeliner (Pretty in Mink). I know it’s an eyeliner, but hey, it works as an eyebrow pencil for me! I have to say though, I went overboard with my brows in this picture.
Benefit Hoola Bronzer as crease colour.
Rimmel Eyebrow Pencil (Crown Black) to tight-line and create a subtle wing. Funny how I just realized I’ve been using brow pencil as an eyeliner all this while! On well, if it works…

Lips:
NYX Lingerie (Push Up) Officially my nude shade.

I didn’t use setting spray because I think it’s redundant for me in the summer/warmer months. I find that a combination of natural oil and sweat makes my skin looks more ‘natural’ even with powder makeup.

Now we’re back in Heidelberg and preparing for another move again VERY soon. Ahh, the life of a modern-day nomad. I am not at all complaining though 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

