Project Summer Hair Part 1: Hair Inspiration

So… now that we have full hot-ish, sunny days for almost one week in a row, I am convinced that summer is almost officially here. Finally.

I’ve been thinking about having rose gold hair for almost a year now. But life often gets in the way and I have to postpone doing my hair. As stupid as it may sound, I was so desperate to give positive impressions to the German authorities that I was scared that me showing up to an appointment with pink hair will reflect negatively on my image. I still have a few more meetings with these people before I finally get my German resident permit but at this point, I almost run out of cares to give. Ok, done with backstory. Now let’s talk about my summer hair inspo!

Katy Perry’s rose gold hair

3d516afdc412813f52fcc12d81204b71-1

This is an old picture of her and it’s one of my favourite hair colours of hers. In some pictures, her hair seemed to be more pastel-coloured. But in this particular picture, it’s more like bright, coral pink. I love pastel-coloured hair but since my hair is naturally jet-black, it’ll have to go through extreme bleaching in order to remove all the underlying pigments before I can dye my hair. Not to mention the amount of maintenance I have to do to keep the colour vivid and hair treatments to make sure I don’t destroy my hair in the process.

Since I have trust issues with hair salons outside of my home country, Malaysia, I did both the bleaching and colouring on my own. I miss my sisters!

All the products I used are available at the local drugstores. In Germany that means mainly DM, Rossmann and Mรผller.
Bleaching:
Step 1: SYOSS Aufheller 13-0 Ultra
Step 2 & 3: SYOSS Aufheller 13-5 Platin
Semi-permanent hair colour: L’Oreal Colorista Washout (Pink Hair)
Shampoo: Dove Reparatur Ritual
Toning conditioner: Swiss O-Par Silver Conditioner
Hair mask: HASK Keratin Protein Deep Conditioner
Hair oil: HASK Argan Oil Repairing Shine Hair Oil

Part 2 will be about my first DIY hair bleaching experience. Keep on reading if you want to know more and see how it all turned out to be in the end ๐Ÿ™‚

One thought on “Project Summer Hair Part 1: Hair Inspiration

Leave a Reply

