Product Empties June 2017

The last Empties post I did was for the period of 6 months (September 2016-February 2017). There aren’t many pictures of the products I used up in this Empties because I threw some of them out during our process of moving back to Germany in the last few weeks of March. I do, however, keep a list of the products I used up and my thoughts on them. So here goes!

20170605_164823-1

Skincare
La Roche-Posay Effaclar range
1. Effaclar Duo+ *Won’t repurchase anytime soon
I love this stuff but I won’t be repurchased this product anytime soon. I have new skin care regimen now and I couldn’t find a place or a need for it to be in my current routine.

2. Effaclar Clarifying Toner *Won’t repurchase, no need for it at the moment
This toner was a part of a three-product regimen I had end of last year. My skin was oily and prone to breakouts which is why I loved it so much back then. By early January this year, my skin has tremendously improved and feels more balance. I stopped using this toner immediately because I noticed just how drying it actually feels on non-oily skin.

3. Effaclar H Multi-Compensating Soothing Moisturizer *Won’t repurchase anytime soon
I love this moisturizer for the cold winter months, it saved my skin from turning dry and flaky from the forced heat. This moisturizer is definitely my winter months staple but as for now, it’s too heavy for the warmer months.

4. Makeup Remover Milk *Won’t repurchase, too pricey for what it is

PicsArt_1496674415813
There’s still some product left in there that I couldn’t scoop out & use!!!

Read my review of this product here. The only downside of this product is the packaging. It’s hard to get all the product out once you gone through more than half of the bottle. I had to take out the cap and scoop out as much product I could.

5. Alverde 2-Phase Makeup Remover *Definitely repurchase

20170605_164418_Richtone(HDR)
Already gone through half of my second bottle!

This is already a repurchased! The pros list is long for this one with the cons of it being only one; I used up this product rather quick. Alverde Naturkosmetik is a German brand offering certified natural cosmetics, skincare and body care and can be find in all DM stores nationwide. Just like the rest of their products that I tried before, this makeup remover is vegan, does its job well and most importantly, doesn’t break my skin out (and my wallet too!). It’s ONLY €1.95 for 100ml of product!

Hair Products
1. TREsemmé Heat Defence Styling Spray *Definite repurchase, if I can find it here
Does the job, smells good and affordable. Unfortunately, I haven’t manage to find this particlar product anywhere in either Müller, DM or Rossmann stores in my city.

2. OGX Conditioner Ever Straight Brazilian Keratin Therapy *Won’t repurchase, too pricey for what it is
Along with the TREsemme product mentioned above, this product was an impulse purchase at Dublin Airport. I was sold on ‘Brazilian Keratin Therapy’ thing, despite the fact that I have no idea what that is. I find this product detangles and smoothes my hair, that’s all. It doesn’t help with the breakage which I noticed gradually happened despite using this product. I’m pretty kind to my hair, I rarely use heat on them (blowdrying, curling irons etc), I didn’t do any chemical treatment in the last one year and yet I still suffer from breakage and split ends. If this conditioner couldn’t even take care of my hair, I doubt it’ll do much for hair that has gone frequent chemical treatments.

3. L’Oreal Paris Extraordinary Oil *Won’t repurchase, too pricey for what it is

20170605_164735
Long story short, after using this leave-on hair oil for over a year, I can safely say that it’s nothing extraordinary. It makes my hair feels smooth and slightly shiny but then again, those are the things that hair oils are supposed to do, right? I don’t think it does anything against hair breakage or treating damage hair though. I don’t put heat on my hair very often (I didn’t even own a hairdryer!) nor do I chemically treated them frequently and yet, I still ended up with some breakage and split ends. Now that I found HASK Argan Oil hair oil, which I like better, I won’t repurchase this product anymore.

Cosmetic

20170605_161744_Richtone(HDR)
1. Maybelline Lash Sensational Mascara *Definite repurchase
This is my favourite drugstore mascara, PERIOD. Read my thoughts on this mascara here.

2. MAC Prep + Prime Fix+ *Won’t repurchase anytime soon, no need for it at the moment
This product is a cult classic for a reason. I know it’s not actually a setting spray but
that’s how I had been using this product for the last one year. It feels refreshing and it makes my makeup look extra good. That being said,  €22 for 100ml product I think that it’s kind of pricey for what it is, with the main ingredients being water and glycerin. I may consider buying the travel size though.

3. NYX Micro Brow (Taupe) *Won’t repurchase, don’t like the formula
The first time I used this product was two years ago but stop using it about half a year because I was trying out other brow products. I picked this brow pencil again in a different shade about a month ago and realized that I no longer enjoyed it the way I did before. The product feels stiffer and the pigmentation is poor. I really have to put more pressure and effort to get the product shows on my brow. In short, I no longer like this product, do not recommend it unless you like stiff eyebrow pencils with very light pigmentation.

4. Gerard Cosmetics Hydra Matte Liquid Lipstick (Serenity) *WON’T REPURCHASE
This will be a really short one. I love the shade and the formula but I won’t repurchase this product or anything else from this company because of the controversy that they got themselves into last year. I don’t support such immature and unprofessional behaviours and they’re not getting my money anymore.

2 thoughts on “Product Empties June 2017

Leave a Reply

