Day Trip: Hanover

On Monday, we went to Hanover before leaving to Berlin later that evening. Hubby was there for work, I tagged along and did some quick sight-seeing during the day.

Hanover (German: Hannover), the capital city of the state of Lower Saxony (Niedersachsen) is approximately 3 hours train ride from Heidelberg. The city is probably most well-known for hosting the annual computer and IT trade fair, CeBIT. To be honest, I don’t know much about the city and didn’t have a specific plan of what to see or do upon arriving.

20170424_151242
Hanover main railway station with the statue of Ernest Augustus, 18th century King of Hanover.

I am not a morning person at all and I was feeling groggy when we arrived in Hanover because I didn’t get enough sleep the night before. I was so tempted to crash into one of the seats in McDonald’s and get some shut-eye. Thanks to Galeria Kaufhof that I could see from my seat, I decided to drag my lazy bum out and check-out the shopping streets. By the time I left the main station, I somehow changed my mind and wanted to see Hanover new city hall instead.

The new city hall is located in Maschpark, about 15 minutes walk from the main station. To get there, I had to walk through Kröpcke, a square in the center of Hanover’s Old Town. The square is packed with all kind of shops and boutiques. I had to repeatedly tell myself to keep walking, not to stop by any shops and spend money on things I don’t need. It was clear that my ‘fairy godmother of stop shopping’, Kimberly Clark, was with me that day because I managed to fend off the temptation of walking into Galeria Kaufhof or buying anything in Douglas and Rossmann (I was sooo close to buying some random beauty tools!!!). Instead of checking out the malls, I just walked pass them and made my way to the new city hall.

20170424_115950
Memorial of The Murdered Jews of Hanover in Opernplatz Square

On my way to Maschpark, I came across some cool architectures especially the NORD/LB head office.

20170424_121552

20170424_142441
Interesting architecture

During WWII, Hanover was one of the major targets for the Allied strategic bombing. Over 90% of the city center was destroyed and one of the famous remnants of the time is the 10th century church, Aegidienkirche. The church was not rebuilt after the war and kept as a war memorial.

20170424_120956

Hanover New City Hall (German: Neues Rathaus) is probably one of the most impressive-looking city halls in Germany I’ve seen so far. It is huge for a city hall and looks very much like a palace.

20170424_130338

IMG_20170424_163622_452
View from Maschpark. Under renovation but still a stunner!

The Maschsee (in German, ‘see’ is ‘lake’), a 78-hectare artificial lake is just a few meters across the street from Maschpark. I can imagine that this lake would be perfect for some recreational activities in the summer.

IMG_20170424_173042_525
Of course there’ll be lots of love padlocks ;p

Of course there are many more to see in Hanover but I think I did well for half-day excursion. While I do need to find a reason to come back, I’d still say Hanover is worth visiting especially for a day trip.

One thought on “Day Trip: Hanover

Leave a Reply

