Maybelline Lash Sensational Lash Multiplying Mascara (Waterproof)

Fun tidbits: It is unclear where the word ‘mascara’ comes from but it can be assumed that it originates from Spanish word máscara meaning ‘mask’ or ‘stain’ and the Italian word maschera meaning ‘mask’. I know Wikipedia is not the most reliable source, but hey, it kind of makes sense 🙂

I haven’t been very lucky with drugstore mascaras so far. The only drugstore mascara I genuinely like is L’Oreal Volume Million Lashes Mascara (€14.99). All my go-to HG mascaras are from high-end brands namely, DiorShow Extase and Iconic, Too Faced Better Than False Lashes and Lancome Virtuose. I’d be happy to stick with them for the rest of my life but forking out €35 every month for a new tube of mascara hurts my soul a little bit. So for daily use, I thought I should just stick to the drugstore options like any sane individual would do.

wp-image-671454073jpg.jpg
My favourite drugstore mascaras!

Mascara is one of the must-have makeup products for me. Having short, straight lashes, I personally prefer and only use waterproof mascara. I also wear contact lenses on daily basis so I always look for non-irritating formulas whenever I’m buying a new mascara.

Maybelline’s Lash Sensational Lash Multiplying Mascara (Waterproof) 9.5ml (€11.99) made quite a splash within the Youtube beauty community when it first came out early last year. Just like any products that received rave reviews by Youtubers or beauty gurus in general, I tend to wait until the hype dies down or go through countless reviews before giving it a try. I’m critical of any influencers’ recommendations because I know that 90% of the time, they’re being paid to review products.

picsart_1488835356481.jpg

Before we get on with the product review, let’s take a look at the claims from Maybelline’s website about this mascara:
“Lash Sensational® Washable Mascara. This fresh liquid formula captures lashes from root to tip for a full-fan effect.”

I bought this mascara last week and I’ve given it a full, one week trial before giving my verdict on the product. Below is the picture of me wearing the mascara on one eye for comparison purpose.

img1488818879234-1.jpg
Ignore my unruly brows, I’m trying to grow them before re-shaping them again. And yes, I wear contact lenses.

Pro:
Formula. It’s not too wet or liquidy and it’s waterproof. One dip into the tube is enough to get the result as seen in the picture above.
Holds curl and long lasting. I find that waterproof formula tend to hold the curl longer.
The shape of the wand and the layered bristle really works in separating and volumising my lashes. The short side helps to spread the product from the roots upward while the longer bristle saparates my lashes.

wp-image-1444285784jpg.jpg

Con:
The handle. The shape of it makes for a rather awkward grip but over time, you’ll get use to it.
Ocassionally, it does flakes a bit after a few hours. Nothing disastrous but I’d still like to have my mascara stays on my lashes, not under my eyes.
VERY difficult to take off. I literally have to use one pump of my LRP Makeup Remover Milk for each eye, making sure all my lashes are coated with it before taking it off with cotton pads. Even after the second cleansing with a regular facial wash, there’ll still be some tiny residue left afterwards.

After a week of wearing this mascara, I noticed that different application gives different results to my lashes. The short bristle gives thicker coating of mascara and waiting for the first coat to dry before going for a second coat will give the spidery look or even cause clumping. My preferred way of applying this mascara is going in with the short bristle first, focusing on the roots and do the second coat using the longer bristle immediately afterwards while the lashes are still ‘wet’. This method separates my lashes well, gives volume without the clumps.

Would I recommend this mascara? YES. It works on my very stubborn straight, short lashes and doesn’t irritate my eyes. It does manage to create a fan-out effect on my lashes just like it claims and keeps them staying that way for hours. It’s a bit pricey for a drugstore mascara but still cheaper than L’Oreal one that I’ve been wearing for months. We all could use a little savings here and there these days 🙂

What’s your favourite mascara from the drugstores? Let me know in the comments section below, I’d love to try them out if I haven’t!

5 thoughts on “Maybelline Lash Sensational Lash Multiplying Mascara (Waterproof)

Leave a Reply

