About being homesick and the Oscars 2017.

We rarely go to restaurants here in Dublin but today we decided to try out this little Chinese and Malaysian restaurant called Shangri-La in Stoneybatter. Food was decent and well-priced for Dublin. I’ve been craving for the hot and sour Chinese soup for quite a while, words couldn’t describe how happy I was when I finally get to have it for dinner earlier (as in Sunday, 26th Feb).

picsart_1488158293968.jpg

I also had some BBQ ribs as appetizers and chicken with rendang sauce (which I forgot to take the pic) for the main course. I didn’t have high expectation going into this restaurant knowing how Europeanised Asian restaurants generally are in this part of the world.

fb_img_1473672474656-1.jpg
This is how a traditional Chicken Rendang looks like.

It really shouldn’t surprise me that the Chicken Rendang didn’t taste or even resemble the actual dish in the slightest. Nevertheless, I enjoyed my dinner with le husband who, as usual, seemed to be happy with his food.

I don’t see myself feeling homesick easily, I’m not those who are so strongly rooted in a place, at least not yet. But lately I found myself watching cooking videos in Youtube and googling ‘easy/simple -insert Malaysian dish – recipe’ a lot. This past week I’ve been making steamed buns and dumplings because I was craving those dishes too.

I can’t describe how much I miss Malaysian food. I tried so many different cuisine in my life and by now I can safely say that there’s really nothing like Malaysian food in this whole world. It’s Malay, Chinese, Indian, Nyonya, Sarawakian, Sabahan and a fusion of all these, all in one. It’s truly unique.

These are just some of my favourite noodle dishes out of possibly a hundred of the dish variety…

I miss the sun. I used to hate the scorching hot sun that made me feel like my head is going to explode from the heat. But after months putting up with Dublin weather (you should listen to the daily weather forecast here LOL), I’d run a marathon just to have ONE day of proper tropical, sunny day. I miss the way my skin tanned naturally and having tropical beaches within an hour flight away from Kuala Lumpur, the vibrant Southeast Asian metropolitan. As corny as it sounds, I miss my t-shirt-jeans-sandals combo.

langkawi

So.. it’s finally the Oscars Sunday, I’ve been looking forward for this since end of last year. 2016 was an excellent year for movies, I saw several movies which I swear are among the best I’ve watched in recent years.

Here are my picks for my favourite categories for this year’s Oscars.
Writing (Adapted Screenplay) : Arrival
Writing (Original Screenplay) : Manchester By The Sea
Cinematography : Arrival

arrival_670

From my picks, it’s obvious that I’m a big fan of Arrival. It’s definitely one of the best movies I watched in the last three years. Arrival is a suspense drama about humans, led by linguists and scientists, trying to establish communication with the aliens in a totally different language a.k.a symbols. I love this particular aspect of the movie; the main characters use language and communication to solve problems instead of seeing it as obstacle which could potentially lead to conflicts and destruction of mankind. In short, this movie is more about humanity than it is about alien invasion.

Arrival, to me, is Signs (2002) meets Close Encounters of The Third Kind (1977) with a bit of Interstellar (2014) in between. Stunning visuals, great direction, hauntingly beautiful scores and Amy Adams’ best performance to date, there’s nothing I don’t like about it. The ending, in my opinion, is the most beautiful thing about this movie. The more i think about, it the better it gets. It’s the kind of movie that makes me want to personally thank the director for making it.

Manchester-By-the-Sea-UK-Poster.jpg

This year’s competition is really tough for Best Directing and Best Picture. Arrival is my favourite movie of 2016 and both Manchester By The Sea and La La Land have special place in my heart, but I strongly believe that Moonlight should win Best Picture. As for Best Directing, Denis Villenueve is my favourite director and I adore his work for Arrival but I must admit that Kenneth Lonergan’s Manchester By The Sea is something truly exceptional.

We don’t have cable tv here (it’s 2017, hellooo..) so I have no way to watch the award show but I’ll be ‘tuning in’ on Twitter from my bed to see if any of my favourites wins this year.

Leave a Reply

