Easy No-Bake Cheesecake

The last cheesecake I had before I decided to make my own at home some days ago was in October 2016. I’m not much of a baker but there are some cakes that I just wanted to learn how to bake. Because I’m such a lazy mofo, I prefer the no-bake recipes over those that requires ten complicated steps and hours of baking in the oven. Plus, these kind of recipes are usually more economical and fail-proof πŸ™‚

I saw the simplest no-bake cheesecake tutorial in Youtube and decided to give it a try. By the way, all measurements here are in grams because I’m not used to ounce πŸ˜›

Most recipes I found online uses Philadelphia’s cream cheese. I’m not sure about the rest of Ireland but here in Dublin, I couldn’t find cream cheese of any brand sold in any major supermarkets. The closest thing to cream cheese I could find is this thing called ‘soft cheese’. Turned out, cream cheese is a soft white cheese. If you’re having the same issue, here’s some explanation about cream cheese and soft cheese.

So I went ahead and bought 2 packs (280g and 180g) of Philadelphia soft cheese. Be careful when you’re picking these up, they’re usually stacked with/next to those garlic or herbs flavoured soft cheese spread. Remember to leave the cheese on room temperature for a few hours beforehand so they’ll be soft enough to whip later.

Serves: 8
Base:
Digestive biscuits * fun tips: use oreo cookies for a slight chocolate taste
Melted butter

Filling:
460g Philadelphia soft cheese
390g sweetened condense milk
Lemon juice
Vanilla extract

Method:
1. Crush digestive biscuits and mix with melted butter until it reaches damp sand texture. Lay it in baking pan and leave it in the fridge for 10 minutes.
2. Whip soft cheese until it reaches smooth texture. Add in the sweetened condensed milk, lemon juice and vanilla extract. Beat the mixture until smooth.
3. Pour the filling over the base.
4. Keep in the fridge for 3 to 5 hours or until properly set. * Fun tips: For ice-cream consistency, put the cake in the freezer.
5. Serve with berries *optional

Easy right? You’re welcome πŸ™‚

Love,
Flo

Leave a Reply

