2017 as a life project

Is it me or I noticed that our new year’s ‘resolutions’ are getting shorter and less materialistic as we get older? I haven’t had any of these things written down for a few years now. I was going through a phase in life where I was feeling jaded and badly uninspired. The thing with life is, it doesn’t wait for you to muster all your strength and get back on your feet; it goes on. With that realization, I slowly picked myself up and reassessed my life. That was the turning point. That was when resolutions turned into ‘decisions’, instead of ‘possession’.

β€œIf you want to live a happy life, tie it to a goal, not to people or things.” Albert Einstein

So here are the the things I decided to work on this year.

1. Write more
Be consistent in posting new blog entry. I’ll make it a point to post at least ONE blog post each week. I need this to be a habit or at least a routine I stick to.

2. Read one book a month
“If you don’t have time to read, you don’t have the time (or the tools) to write. Simple as that.” Stephen King on writing.

Bill Gates reportedly reads about a book a week, what excuse do I have not to read at least one book a month? I also want to adopt this way of reading that Bill Gates suggested here in this video:

I have a long list of books I’d like to read this year including one of Bill Gates’ favourite books of 2016, The Gene by Siddhartha Mukherjee. As for now, I’ll start with a book I bought last year as a birthday gift for myself, The View From Cheap Seats, a selected non-fiction book by my favourite author, Neil Gaiman. To make sure that I’ll finish reading this book, I’ll write a post about my thoughts on this book by the first week of February 2017!

3. Improve my German language skills
Oh maaan… I’ve been telling myself this since early 2016 but ended up finding every excuses I could to not work on this goal. According to my Goethe-Zertifikat A1 exam result that I took in December 2015, I should be able to converse in simple German with confidence by now. But no, I’m still too insecure with my language skills that it refrained me from taking part in conversations or situations that require me to practice my German. Every German I met so far has been really nice and accomodating enough by making the effort to speak English to make me feel welcomed. Moving to Ireland really doesn’t help to improve this situation because language-wise, I’m in my comfort zone. Therefore, two days ago I decided to dedicate 30 minutes every night to listening, reading and practicing German using this app called German Listening.

What I like about this app is that it uses content from DW that are regularly updated so that none of the lessons feel repetitive and boring. My favourite section in the app is Das sagt man so! where you can learn about German idioms. If you’re looking to improve your German language skills or just interested in learning the language, you may want to check out this app along with Learn German section in the DW website.

4. Excercise more and sleep better
Living a healthy lifestyle comes almost naturally to me. I don’t smoke, I only drink alcohol on some occasions, rarely eat junk food and effortless committed to balanced diet. I happened to enjoy taking long walks and running. But lately I feel a little sluggish and experienced some back pain from irregular sleeping hours, bad posture and lack of excercise. I’m too young to feel like a grandma so this has to change!

5. Eat healthy
Maybe it’s because I’m getting older and finally feel the urge to take better care of my body. Maybe it’s because I’m married to a guy who happened to love all the healthy stuff. I don’t see myself turning into a yoga-practising vegetarian anytime soon, but cutting down on my meat intake and introduce more plant-based foods are some of the changes I’ve already started doing without much difficulties.

6. Set life-defining goals
I learned it the hard way that there is a strong relation between happiness and my sense of purpose. Setting life-defining goals scared me because it most likely requires me to change or even give up things that I feel so attached to and cared about in order to achieve them. I wasn’t brave enough for that. But if I don’t do it this year, I may go on living the rest of my life without them. At this point in life, I find that scary.

I guess this is my project for 2017. As of now, they seemed to be realistically achieveable but we’ll see how I did by end of this year πŸ™‚

“It always seems impossible until it’s done.” Nelson Mandela

Love,
Flo

Leave a Reply

