M.A.C Pro Longwear Nourishing Waterproof Foundation – Product review

I’ve wanted to review this foundation for a loooong time since I bought it in May this year. I was looking for a waterproof foundation that I can wear for outdoor activities and I was sold when I thought the Sales Associate in M.A.C succesfully matched me to an NC25 foundation shade. Turned out, it was too light for me. What is it with these makeup stores lighting that makes it so damn difficult to see actually foundation shades on your skin?!

I found the finish was too damp for me and the texture felt too ‘hydrating’ for my oily-combo skin back then. After trying it a few times and failed to make it work on my skin, I just put it away until the colder months come and my skin would be more on the normal side.

20161230_220048-1.jpg

I started wearing it again since Friday last week and I have to say that I’m still not a fan of this foundation. Coverage-wise, this foundation is buildable medium to full-coverage. I find the application using beautyblender/makeup sponge is much smoother and it helps to avoid caking too much product on my skin. I do layer-up this foundation on my skin but only on my problem areas (refer to picture below). It layers nicely and with a light layer it even has a healthy-looking, dewy finish. Plus, my skin is now light enough to wear NC25.

picsart_1482968069365.jpg
I mainly have acne scars on this side of my face and the foundation covers them all well.
picsart_1483131848407.jpg
Before and after blending.

My issues with this foundation is the longevity and how it sits on the skin without powder. As I mentioned above, my skin gets drier and mostly on the normal side in colder months so theoretically, a hydrating foundation would work , right? Nope, not with this one. For whatever reason, this foundation just doesn’t seem to set on my skin on its own. I always have to set it with my transluscent powder (Laura Mercier’s my favourite). Even then, I’d usually get oily especially on my T-zone within 8 hours of wear. It also transfers and I can easily rub it off my skin once I get oily. I really have to pack on powders especially at the center of my face if I want to keep my skin matte longer.

I have tried switching my moisturizers and the products I used underneath this foundation but it just doesn’t seem to work. I really wanted to make this foundation works for me because I finally have a foundation that closely matches my skin tone right now without mixing/customizing the shade. Plus, the coverage is pretty decent and it doesn’t break me out. I really don’t like to waste products especially when it’s a freakin M.A.C!!

It’s only 25ml, if I have to wear it often enough, I’ll finish it up before end of winter. Maybe I just need to set it with a different, more mattifying powder and it’ll be perfect.

Have you tried this foundation before? What’s your favourite foundation for the winter months? Let me know if you have any recommendations, I’d love to hear from you πŸ™‚

Love,
Flo

3 thoughts on “M.A.C Pro Longwear Nourishing Waterproof Foundation – Product review

  1. Oh that sucks! I can’t seem to get MAC foundations to work with my skin. My pick would be Chanel Vitalumiere – it’s dewy but it actually sets and looks like skin. πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

