Himalayan Charcoal Purifying Glow Mask – Product Review

This is one of those products that I bought simply because I liked the sales person. The Body Shop has a store in Heidelberg’s Haupstraße with wonderful staff who are willing to muster as much English as they can to help a customer who is struggling with the German language.

I love the idea behind The Body Shop brand and their business philosophy. I used to be obsessed with their range of fragrances. Growing up, their fragrances and scented body lotion were the ‘it’ thing to use by teenage girls and ladies in their early twenties. That being said, I was never really impressed by their skincare products. For their price range, The Body Shop skincare products typically fall in the ‘meh’ category for me. So when I randomly walked into their store in Haupstraße, which happened to be across a LUSH store, I wasn’t expecting to spend €25.00 on a jar of 75ml product.

I’ve read many reviews which said that this mask is a dupe for GLAMGLOW YOUTHMUD™ Tinglexfoliate Treatment. I’ve never used the Glamglow mask but comparing the product composition of both masks, I’d say that they have similar ingredients.

Himalayan Charcoal Purifying Glow Mask 75ml retails at €25.00 from The Body Shop website.

Ingredient:
Aqua/Water/Eau, Kaolin, Moroccan Lava Clay, Magnesium Aluminum Silicate, Alcohol Denat., Camellia Sinensis Leaf, PEG-40 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Pumice, Argania Spinosa Shell Powder, Phenoxyethanol, Xanthan Gum, Parfum/Fragrance, Charcoal Powder, Ethylhexylglycerin, Caprylhydroxamic Acid, Argania Spinosa Kernel Oil, Butyrospermum Parkii Butter/Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea) Butter, Limonene, Linalool, Methylpropanediol, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice Powder, Menthol, Disodium EDTA, Tetrasodium Pyrophosphate, Melaleuca Alternifolia Leaf Oil/Melaleuca Alternifolia (Tea Tree) Leaf Oil, Eucalyptus Globulus Leaf Oil, Citric Acid, Menthoxypropanediol, Citral, Geraniol, Coumarin, Caramel.

Pro:
100% vegan
Absorbs excess oil
Formulated without parabens, paraffin, silicone or mineral oil
Smells like eucalyptus, but then again, I don’t think it’s necessary to have it in the product

Cons:
Contains fragrance
Those with sensitive skin may not like the tingling sensation with this mask on and the slight redness on the skin afterwards

How I use this mask:

Step 1: Cleansing
If I was wearing makeup before, I’d do a double-cleanse using makeup remover followed by my regular facial cleanser. Or else, I’ll just wash my face with my regular gel cleanser and pat dry with clean towel.

Step 2: Mask on
Careful not to put too much as the thicker the mask on your skin, the longer it takes to dry. I usually leave it on for 20 minutes or until the mask dries completely.

Step 3: Remove
I like to run the mask under lukewarm water to melt it, gently rub in on my skin to exfoliate, wash it off with a gel cleanser and then splash cold water on my face. Tip: Do this in the shower because the mask has bits of the tea tree leaves (i think) which may clog/dirty the sink.

Step 4: Tone
I’d usually tone my skin afterwards to thoroughly clean my skin.

Step 5: Moisturize
I used to follow-up with a light moisturizer but since last week, I started using pure Aloe Vera gel I picked from our Aloe Vera plant we have by the kitchen window ;p

Magical plant!

Frequency:
I started using this mask as a weekly, night-time home treatment for a month. After that I reduced the frequency to twice a month.

Verdict:
I’ve been using this product for almost four months now so I can say for sure, it’s worth the money.

The jar looks small but the amount of product really last for a long time. As of now, I’m pretty sure I still have enough product for another two months of usage.

Does it purify my skin? Yes, to a certain extent. In the beginning, it can really clear the blackheads on my nose area. After a while, it seems like it isn’t potent enough to do the job. But it does great for other areas of my face.

Does it ‘reveal a healthy, youthful glow’ as claimed in TBS website? Healthy-looking, yes. Youthful glow? Yes, but don’t expect a Becca highlighter glow though😜 It’s the kind of glow that your skin gets after a good scrub/exfoliation. My skin looks brighter, smoother and my pores are less congested. The biggest difference is in makeup application in which my makeup goes on smoothly and stays beautiful longer. I also noticed that my skincare products get absorbed better right after every treatment. If I use this mask before showering in the evening, I’ll always wake up with bright, healthy-looking skin the next day.

This is not a miracle product. It didn’t stop those pesky pimples from popping up every now and then especially during that time of the month. But it does help to reduce skin problems resulted from congested pores. I also love this mask as an overnight spot treatment by applying a bit of the product on spot to reduce inflammation and speed up the healing process.

Hope this review is useful for you. If you like this kind of contents, go ahead and subscribe!

P.S Pedro, the house cat, says hello 😉

Love,
Flo

One thought on “Himalayan Charcoal Purifying Glow Mask – Product Review

Leave a Reply

