La Roche-Posay Make-up Remover Milk – Makeup Remover Product Review

I finally ran out of my trusty, holy-grail status makeup remover last week after a good 4 months of using it. Retails at approx. €10 for 200ml product in Watsons (Malaysian version of Boots), it was a pretty awesome product and I regret didn’t get a back-up before I left Malaysia.

Hada Labo Super Hyaluronic Acid Moisturizing Cleansing Oil

I’ve been looking for similar oil-based makeup remover online but none seems to compare to my trusty Hada Labo Cleansing Oil 😒. I’ve been using a range of La Roche-Posay skincare products for the last two months and my skin hasn’t had any weird reaction to them so I thought I should give the LRP Makeup Remover Milk a try.

La Roche-Posay Make-Up Remover Milk

I usually read through the ingredients before buying anything but I was in a rush when I picked this one up in Boots. It was only after using it for the third time, which was yesterday, that I finally googled the ingredients in this product. I legit freaked out when I saw this one ingredient listed in the product composition;

PARAFFINUM LIQUIDUM / MINERAL OIL

FYI, I have oily-combo skin which is prone to congestion and acne. Mineral Oil is not a friend to my problematic skin. But I have just spent €16.49 on a 200ml product which in theory could last me at least 3 months! I won’t be using this everyday and I always follow up with another cleanser and a toner, so it’s safe, right? #prayformyskin

Texture-wise, it’s a creamy emollient that feels very light on the skin which I like.

Application advice as per LRP’s website:
“Pat onto the entire face with the fingertips or with a cotton ball. Rinse free.”

The challenge LOL

First usage:
I pumped out some product on a cotton pad and remove makeup on half of my face. It took me a generous amount of the product and 3 cotton pads to remove almost all visible makeup on half of my face.

img1481570542865.jpg

I love that it doesn’t leave my skin feeling greasy afterwards. However, as you can see here, some area of my face got red from all the wiping. I didn’t manage to wipe the last traces of waterproof mascara under my eye. Second cleansing with LRP Effaclar Purifying Cleansing Gel does the trick.

Second usage:
The first method doesn’t seem to be so effective and the fact that I had to use 3 cotton pads for half of my face is not cost-effective. I tried to use it the same way I used my Hada Labo Cleansing Oil; massage the product all over my face then wet my face to emulsify the cleanser and rinse with water. This method works better but it leaves some kind of film on the skin and I had to use loads of the second cleanser to wash it off.

Verdict:
I’ve been using this three times now and I can say for sure that I still prefer my old and finished-to-the-last-drop Hada Labo Cleansing Oil Makeup Remover. One pump of the high purity olive oil can dissolve and remove even the thickest of my long-wearing foundation and three coats of waterproof mascara without leaving any black residue under my eyes. I really need this in my life!

But for now, I will try to make this product work and finish it up because I really hate wasting stuff. Recommended for folks with super dry skin but those with oily-combo/congested skin/enlarged pores, may want to stay away from this product.

Love,
Flo

2 thoughts on “La Roche-Posay Make-up Remover Milk – Makeup Remover Product Review

Leave a Reply

